A Brief Overview of Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist Coverage

One-fifth of all NM drivers are either uninsured, can not pay your large hospital bills resulting from a collision, or carry mandatory minimum bodily injury liability insurance that will leave you to fend for yourself if your medical expenses exceed $25,000.

What the hell does that mean?

Well, since New Mexico law requires drivers to carry a minimum of $25,000 in Bodily Injury liability coverage, what do you think many New Mexico drivers do? That’s right, they pay the minimum premium possible. And some of them cancel the policy the day after they get their vehicle registered.

So when one of these people collide into you, your spouse, your child, or your car, they either have a total of $25,000 available to compensate for the damages OR they have NOTHING to compensate for the damages.

Imagine you are injured in a crosswalk by a red light runner who flees the scene, leaving you injured and on your own to pay your medical expenses.

Now think about driving your car or a friend’s truck. Some drunk jerk T-bones you. You weren’t at fault. The jerk doesn’t have any money. He’s uninsured. You have a broken leg requiring surgery.

In either scenario set forth above, that !##&*$@ leaves you on the hook to pay the medical bills. And forget about recovering anything for time out of work. 

If the at- fault driver or party lacks assets and/or has minimal or no insurance to pay your damages, you’re hosed.

So what can you do to protect yourself from these scofflaw, uninsured, and underinsured drivers and parties?

Check the next blog post to find out!

“When you’re mendin’, Get BRENDNN!” Call us TODAY¬†(505) 591-0808.